Lobby open · CanadaSoftware & AI for trades, hospitality & oilfield
Home / Guides / 7shifts vs Homebase

7shifts vs Homebase

Both have a free plan and charge per location. 7shifts is built only for restaurants. Homebase is for any hourly team. Here's how they compare on their own published pricing.

Heads-upRun by the same person behind Trim & Tally, a bookkeeping service; we may earn commissions from some links. Commissions never decide what we recommend. How we make money.

The short answer

We haven't used either hands-on. The prices below are from each vendor's page on Nov 2, 2026. Neither page stated a currency, so confirm before you subscribe.

Prices per location per month

7shifts Homebase
Free Comp: 1 location, up to 15 employees Basic: 1 location, up to 10 employees
Entry paid Essentials $44.99 ($39.99 billed annually), up to 30 employees Essentials $30 ($24 annually), unlimited employees
Mid Pro $89.99 ($79.99 annually), unlimited employees Plus $70 ($56 annually)
Top Premium $149.99 ($134.99 annually), includes tip and task management All-in-One $120 ($96 annually)
Tip management Included in Premium Check the current plan page

What to weigh

Tips. If your servers and bartenders pool tips, 7shifts' tip management (Premium) automates the tip-out math. Have your bookkeeper confirm how tips flow to payroll and to your POS reports before you switch it on.

Labour cost vs sales. 7shifts markets labour-cost tools for restaurants; Homebase is more general. Check which plan includes the labour report you actually want before you upgrade.

Payroll stays Canadian. Both companies advertise payroll features or integrations aimed at US employers. For Canadian staff, keep payroll in a Canadian payroll provider (see best payroll software in Canada), and use the scheduling app's timesheet export.

Count your locations. Both charge per physical location. A restaurant and a separate lounge at two addresses pay twice.

Researched, not hands-on tested

7shifts

  • Comp: free (1 location, up to 15 employees)
  • Essentials: $44.99/month per location, or $39.99/month billed annually (up to 30 employees)
  • Pro: $89.99/month per location, or $79.99 annually
  • Premium: $149.99/month per location, or $134.99 annually (includes tip and task management)

Currency not stated on the plans page we checked ('new customer pricing'). 14-day trial of Pro, no card.

Prices checked Nov 2, 2026 · source 1 · visit 7shifts
Researched, not hands-on tested

Homebase

  • Basic: free (1 location, up to 10 employees)
  • Essentials: $30/month per location ($24 billed annually)
  • Plus: $70/month per location ($56 annually)
  • All-in-One: $120/month per location ($96 annually)

Currency not stated on the page we checked (US company). Payroll is an add-on; we did not confirm Canadian payroll availability.

Prices checked Nov 2, 2026 · source 1 · source 2 · visit Homebase

Sources (checked Nov 2, 2026)

  1. 7shifts plans & pricing
  2. Homebase pricing
  3. Homebase support: plans and billing

Related

Comparison

QuickBooks Online vs Xero in Canada

The two big cloud ledgers. Xero is cheaper at the middle tier and includes Hubdoc. QuickBooks has Canadian payroll built in and more bookkeepers who know it.

Updated Nov 2, 2026