FreshBooks vs QuickBooks Online: the Canadian view
Both are good. They're built for different businesses. Here's how to tell which one is yours, with Canadian prices checked Nov 2, 2026.
We haven't used either one hands-on. This comparison comes from each vendor's published pages on Nov 2, 2026. Both offer a 14-day free trial with no card, so run a real week of jobs through each before you decide.
| Jobber | Housecall Pro | |
|---|---|---|
| Currency shown | "All prices in USD" (on the page we saw) | Not stated (US company) |
| Entry plan | Core, 1 user: $29/mo billed annually ($49 month-to-month) | Basic: from $59/mo billed annually |
| Mid plan | Connect, 1 user: $99/mo annually ($139 monthly). Grow, 1 user: $149/mo annually ($199 monthly) | Essentials, 5 users included (price shown after a quiz) |
| Top plan | Plus, 5 users: $399/mo annually ($499 monthly) | Max, 8 users included, +$35/mo per extra user |
| Extra users | $29/mo each | $35/mo each (Max) |
| Free trial | 14 days on Grow, no card | 14 days on Max, no card |
Check the currency at checkout. Jobber's page told us prices were in USD. If you're billed in USD, your real cost moves with the exchange rate, plus any foreign-transaction fee your card charges.
Accounting sync. Jobber syncs with QuickBooks Online from Connect up, and also lists Xero sync. Housecall Pro's QuickBooks Online sync starts on Essentials. Neither syncs on its cheapest plan, so a Core or Basic user re-keys invoices into their books.
Getting paid. Jobber lists card processing at 2.9% + 30¢ online and 2.7% + 30¢ for Tap to Pay. Its US bank-payment option (ACH) is US-only. Housecall Pro advertises card rates "as low as 2.59%" and 1% for bank payments. Ask each one what applies to a Canadian account and which Canadian debit or Interac options exist, before you rely on either.
Job costing. Jobber's job costing and custom automations start on Grow. Housecall Pro lists job costing on Basic.
AI call answering. Jobber sells an AI Receptionist add-on for $29/month that answers calls and texts and can book jobs. Housecall Pro offers a "CSR AI" add-on, with no price on the pricing page. See our AI receptionist guide for other options.
Canadian fit. Jobber's home base is Edmonton, and it lists two-way texting and card processing in Canada. Housecall Pro is US-built. Some of its add-ons (consumer financing, payroll) may not apply in Canada, so confirm each add-on you're paying for.
Jobber's pricing page says "All prices in USD", including on its Canadian page. Housecall Pro's page doesn't name a currency. Below is what each vendor's own pages said on Nov 2, 2026. Prices change, so check again before you sign.
Which billing option the price is for. Jobber shows three prices for each plan: annual prepaid (the lowest, and the one in its headlines), monthly with a 12-month commitment, and monthly with no commitment. For Core with 1 user that's US$29, US$39 or US$49 a month. If you cancel an annual plan partway through, the upfront payment isn't refunded. If you cancel a 12-month commitment, you keep getting billed until the term ends. All Jobber plans renew automatically. (Jobber pricing and FAQ) Housecall Pro's headline "from $59/mo" is also the annual-billing price, and its FAQ says it doesn't require long-term contracts. (Housecall Pro pricing)
Price changes. Jobber's list prices went up in 2026. Its archived February 2026 page showed Core at US$39 month-to-month and Plus (15 users) at US$599. The current page shows US$49 and US$699. (Feb 2026 archive, current page) In mid-2026 the page also showed first-year promotional prices with a higher "then" price on renewal. If you're offered a promo, ask what the renewal price will be.
Extra users. Jobber's Core plan is for one user only (Core plan help article). Once someone else needs a login, you're on Connect or higher. Connect is US$99 a month billed annually for 1 user, or US$149 for 5 users. Each user beyond what's included is US$29 a month. Housecall Pro's Max plan includes 8 users, then charges $35 a month per extra user.
Add-ons. Jobber's add-ons are Marketing Suite (reviews, campaigns, referrals) at US$99 a month, AI Receptionist at US$29 a month and Sales Pipeline at US$49 a month. All three are included in Plus. (Jobber pricing, add-ons help article) The Receptionist comes with a monthly allowance of conversations. Jobber's Receptionist help article puts it at 30, then US$0.79 for each extra conversation. It also needs a Jobber phone number, which isn't available during the free trial. (Receptionist help article) Marketing Suite cost US$79 earlier in 2026. Housecall Pro lists CSR AI, Pipeline, Payroll, Voice and other add-ons, but doesn't show their prices on its pricing page.
Payment processing. Both companies take their fees out before the money reaches your bank, so a deposit is smaller than the invoices it covers.
| Jobber | Housecall Pro | |
|---|---|---|
| Card paid online | 2.9% + 30¢ | "As low as 2.59%" |
| Tap to Pay | 2.7% + 30¢ | Not stated on the pricing page |
| Bank payments (ACH) | 1%, US only | 1%, US only |
| Instant payout | +1% of the payout | +1% per transaction, +$0.75 on transactions under $75 |
| Standard payout | 2 business days after a 5-business-day hold on new accounts | Typically 2 business days |
Jobber's instant payouts in Canada need a Visa Debit or Mastercard Debit card. Interac-only debit cards don't work. (Jobber pricing, Jobber payout window, Jobber instant payouts, compatible debit cards, Housecall Pro Instapay FAQ, Housecall Pro ACH FAQ)
Third-party apps. Both connect to outside apps, and those apps bill separately. Price any app you'd need, like a photo app or an instant-quote tool, as part of the total.
Jobber's pricing page says 'All prices in USD' (as shown to us on Nov 2, 2026). Confirm the currency you'll be billed in at checkout. 14-day free trial on Grow, no card.
Exact Essentials and Max prices are behind an interactive quiz on the vendor page. 14-day free trial of Max, no card.
This is standard bookkeeping practice for any field-service app, not a review of these two. During the trial, run a few real jobs through the app, sync them, and check each item below in QuickBooks Online:
If something doesn't come over cleanly, ask the vendor how to fix it before you commit. It's much easier to sort out before you have months of data in the app.
Both are good. They're built for different businesses. Here's how to tell which one is yours, with Canadian prices checked Nov 2, 2026.
The two big cloud ledgers. Xero is cheaper at the middle tier and includes Hubdoc. QuickBooks has Canadian payroll built in and more bookkeepers who know it.
There's no single best. There's a best for where your business is right now. Four honest picks with regular Canadian prices, checked Nov 2, 2026.